Geek Language: Ships

15 Dec

I really wanted to get this post out this week as well, seeing as I am not sure whether I will have any time to post during the next two weeks.

What has always fascinated me about the Geek community is their ability to create their own language, which is easily adapted by close to all members and used without necessarily being questioned. What is even more fascinating is that this Geek language develops further sub categories based on individual fandoms, such as Trekkies, Bronies, Otakus, etc etc.

What I wish to look at today however is a term I have found to be used more generally by all groups and it’s also a term most of my non-Geek friends found the most confusing. Rarely did they understand when I said: “I’d totally ship that!”. So the Geek language term in question if of course Ships, Shipping, Crossshipping and all the Canons and Headcanons that go with it.

by LordColgate15

 

Ships are essentially the fan-support of a particular couple within a work of fiction. This support however can be divided into further categories.

Group 1 – The canon ship

It’s the ship that is actually really¬†happening in the work of fiction.

 

Group 2 – The regular ship

It’s a ship that is not really happening in the work of fiction, but fans still manage to find support for the pairing through various scenes.

 

Group 3 – Crossshipping

It’s a ship that combines characters from completely different works of fiction that have no real connection to each other.

 

Group 4 – OC Shipping

by Miharu-Hachiko

It’s a ship that combines one canon character with that created by a fan. It’s most popular among fan girls (like me, I have to admit).

 

Group 5 – HeadCanons

This one is a little tricky, because I have come across several different uses of this one. But what I have generally gathered is that this isn’t necessarily linked to a romantic interest, but can just involve general traits or background stories to characters, as weird as they may be.

 

Shipping comes truly alive in the forms of fan art, music videos and of course in fan fiction. The internet seems to have a rule that if someone ships it, there is a fan fiction about it somewhere. An let’s not forget rule 34 of the Internet!

Ships are also often the cause of so called Shipping Wars. Personally, I find them pointless, especially when two non-canon ships fight against each other, but I guess we just have to accept these online fights as part of the Geek community. I just put them down to how passionate most geeks can be. I mean, I know myself. I can get pretty emotional when it comes to the ships I support!

Although I am part of this myself, I am always surprised how people can create ships after just one tiny little scene where two characters exchange but a glance and a word. And even if they never ever speak again thereafter, some ships just seem to keep on sailing on regardless. Really, its a fascinating phenomenon and the ability to create relationships within and across works of fiction is a creative trait that is to be applauded. Even if I do agree that some really weird things may come out of it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

